New Position!

Excited to share the news: I’ve accepted a new position at the University of California – Irvine! I will start as the a Research Librarian for Science Teaching & Learning on July 25th. So my summer will be spent wrapping up my current projects and position, moving, and getting settled in at UC-Irvine.

My office will be in the Ayala Science Library:

ayala
Ayala Science Library (Image source: Mikejuinwind123~commonswiki via CC BY-SA 3.0)

I’ll be part of the Education & Outreach department, which provides leadership for outreach and instruction activities and programs, including information literacy, research help, scholarly communication, and critical thinking instruction. The rest of my department is housed in the Langson Library (one of the original campus buildings):

langson.JPG
Langson Library (Image source: Mikejuinwind123~commonswiki via CC BY-SA 3.0)

So I’ll get to do lots of walking across the beautiful campus – the buildings are all in a circular configuration around a large park in the middle of campus:

aldrich.jpg
I took this while I was on campus for my interview in April!

My position will involve lots of fun stuff! I will be coordinating outreach efforts to the gateway science courses for science majors and non-majors, providing lots of instruction, integrating information literacy into online science courses, and providing references services. I will also serve as the subject liaison for the Mathematics Department and the Physics & Astronomy Department. And I’ll get to help develop data services and programming within the library.

I’ll definitely be writing about the position and UCI more once I move in July. And I plan to write a post later this summer about my job search process, similar to Brianna Marshall’s and Robin Camille Davis’, both of which were very helpful to me during my search.

Thanks to everyone for all of the support through my job search, which was fun but exhausting. On to bigger and better things!

Leave a Reply

